Grow Up, they said.

2015 has been more of what they call “Quarter-Life Crisis.” Do we even understand this concept? As defined by www.everything.explained.today:

The quarterlife crisis is a period of life following the major changes of adolescence, usually ranging from the late teens to the early thirties, in which a person begins to feel doubtful about their own lives, brought on by the stress of becoming an adult. The term was coined by analogy with mid-life crisis.

One Thursday night, randomly a friend over dinner asked me, out of the blue, “Nag-quarter-life crisis ka?” And from then on, I wondered, did I? Will I? Should I? I don’t know the answer, I don’t know if I can say then and there or even now that I did not went through that phase of life. May be I don’t care much in the world neither I care much about myself. The real deal is I rarely interact with people which keeps me aways from comparing their life to mine. I am a believer of “Live one day at a time.” What’s important to me is the present for it will dictate my future. I have dreams, goals, plans for my own life but I don’t rush myself to achieving that now.

When we were young, adults tell us to not grow up too fast. They love to baby us and be our cute little gummy bears but when adolescence sets in, especially during the stage when parents love to scold us, they usually are ranting at the back of their heads “Why can’t you grow-up?!” There is a good reason behind this. They want us to step-in their shoes and understand that life is not easy. There are things we want but we can’t have because momma is saving for your college.

People often use interchangeably the term “independence” with this term of growing up. Just like how there are many different kinds of being an independent, there are also different levels of growing up. But in life, in general, growing up does not happen in one snap. Some grew because of the circumstances surrounding them, some as a choice.

So many things happened in my life, not just me but also to the people close to my heart and I guess these triggered me understanding that the what usually Jamie wants, Jamie gets is not always the case. That is still possible though,  I just chose to delay it.

Life is a choice. In life you have to make sacrifices not only for you but most specially for the people you love. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

